While large major cities are gaining a new population and tax base, most rural counties are loosing both population and tax base faster than it did in the Great Depression.

ARCIT is here to unite rural voices, and reverse this trend.

ARCIT Advisory Committees

2016-2017 Advisory Committees

  • Public Policy Committee

    Chairman – Jim Gray, City of Ingleside
    The Honorable Lee Norman, Garza County
    Vicki Rudy, City of Oak Ridge North
    James Yohe, Nicona EDC
    The Honorable John Brieden, Washington County
    Mindi Synder, City of El Campo

  • Economic Development Committee

    (Governor’s Office of Economic Development and Tourism & Texas Department of Agriculture –TDA)

    Chairwoman – Genora Young, Gonzales EDC
    Lynda Pack, Jacksboro EDC
    The Honorable Byron Ryder, Leon County

  • Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) Committee

    Chairman – Barry Mitchael, Kountze EDC
    Carolyn Gibson, City of El Campo CDC
    Kim Little, Coleman EDC
    Milton Koller, City of Weimar
    April Stoll, City of Venus

  • Local Advisory Committee (Texas Commission on Environmental Quality – TCEQ)

    Chairman – Larry Kuciemba, City of Sealy
    Marty Mangum, City of Somerville
    Chris Whitaker, City of Rockdale

ARCIT has four advisory committees that work in conjunction with the Board of Directors to ensure the membership has an active voice in influencing issues rural and small communities face before the Legislature. Each committee focuses on a specific area and is compromised of 5-7 ARCIT members, including a Board Member and a committee chairman. Advisory committee members discuss and make recommendations on policies impacting ARCIT’s member communities.