Carolyn Gibson

The most important facet of membership in ARCIT is the respect and attention ARCIT has garnered for rural Texans, with the State Legislature and the state agencies in Austin. As a combined voice our members are heard in the same way as the Texas mega-cities.

Carolyn Gibson
El Campo CDC

Board of Directors

The Honorable Pat Calhoun, Goliad County

Judge Calhoun was born and raised in Goliad County. He graduated from Texas A&M University with a BS in Agronomy in 1980. Judge Calhoun was Commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the US Marine Corps upon graduation and served in many regions and places, to include combat operations in Desert Shield and Desert Storm as an Infantry Company Commander. In 1995, Judge Calhoun graduated from Texas A&M University with an MBA. He was elected as Goliad County Judge in 2014.

Carolyn Gibson, CDC of El Campo

Carolyn is the Executive Director of the El Campo City Development Corporation. She is responsible for performing all duties related to the management of non-profit and Type B & A sales tax funded corporations. Her previous experience includes serving as the Executive Director of the Gonzales Economic Development Corporation, as well as the Bellville Economic Development Corporation & Bellville Chamber of Commerce. In addition to 14 years in Economic Development, Carolyn has over 20 years of experience in business management in the travel industry, real estate sales and property management, emergency medicine and nursing. Carolyn also serves on the H-GAC Local Development Corporation Board, H-GAC Gulf Coast Small Business Finance Corporation Board, Northside Education Center Board, El Campo Chamber of Commerce & Agriculture Board, and LCRA Ambassadors representing the Mid Basin.

Adena Lewis, Tourism & Economic Development, Bastrop County

Adena currently serves as Director of Tourism and Economic Development for Bastrop County. Prior to joining Bastrop County, Adena served for 8 years as President of the Smithville Area Chamber of Commerce. She has taught high school and been a partner in a small business. Adena serves on multiple volunteer and professional boards with an emphasis on helping rural Texas and its people.

Marty Mangum, City Manager, City of Somerville

Marty has served as City Administrator of the City of Somerville, Texas for the past 3 years.
Marty began his career in public service when he was elected to the City Council of the City of Littlefield where he served for four years. A short time later, he was appointed City Manager and served in that capacity for thirteen years. He also served as City Manager of Garden Ridge, Texas and Los Fresnos, Texas for 2 years, as well as owned and operated his own real estate business in Dallas.

Lynda Pack, Executive Director, Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation

Lynda Pack is the Executive Director with the Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation, where she has been for the last eight years. Prior to that time, Lynda worked in Llano, San Saba, and San Angelo. In addition to serving as an ARCIT Board Member, she also serves on North Texas Workforce Development Board, Texas Forts Trail Board, Texas Heritage Trails Board, Lions Club, EDD Advisory Board with Nortex Region Planning, Jack County Extension Service Advisory Board, and Ladies of Faith Advisory Committee. Lynda attended Amarillo College, West Texas State University, Angelo State University, and Lone Star College.

Vicki Rudy, City Manager, Oak Ridge North

Vicky Rudy is the City Manager at Oak Ridge North. She is a 20-year resident of Montgomery County. Vicky has worked with a number of communities on community development, economic development, and education issues prior to being named as the first City Administrator for the City of Montgomery in 2003. From 2007 to 2009, Vicky served as City Administrator for the City of Rollingwood, near Austin, Texas. She returned to Montgomery County when she was named City Manager of Oak Ridge North in March 2010. Vicky is Vice President of the Montgomery County Emergency Communications District, also known as 911. She is active in the South Montgomery County Woodlands Chamber of Commerce and served as team leader for the 2007 and 2011 Montgomery County Day at the Capital events. Vicky also served on the Magnolia ISD Board of Trustees for six years, as well as was President of the Board for two terms and was a founder of the Magnolia Education Foundation.

The Honorable Byron Ryder, Leon County

Byron Ryder has been the County Judge of Leon County for 13+ years. Before being elected as county judge, he was the Mayor of Buffalo, Texas for 12 years. Judge Ryder is involved in the Brazos Valley Council of Governments (BVCOG) where he served as its chairman. He also served as the President of the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC), as well as various advisory committees that helped form policy in many areas.

The Honorable Mike Sutherland, Burleson County

Mike Sutherland was elected Burleson County Judge in November, 2002. He took office January 1, 2003 and has been re-elected twice. He served the United States by serving in the Navy. He received his Bachelor of Science degree from Texas A&M University in 1990.

Chris Whittaker, City Manager, City of Rockdale

Chris Whittaker is a 25 year veteran of the US Army serving several combat tours and over 14 years overseas in critical leadership positions. His final tours include Commander in 1st Cavalry Division in Iraq and on the Army Staff at the Pentagon. Upon his retirement, Chris was selected for his first city management at Rockdale. In addition to serving on the ARCIT Board, he serves on various TCMA, TML and Regional boards. Chris has a BA graduate in History of Virginia Military Institute and is a graduate of American Military University with a MA in Management. He has PMP and CPM education.